Make up revolution £1 lipstick review

I’ve been buying and reviewing lots of Makeup Revolution cosmetics recently. The products I’ve tried and reviewed have delivered surprising results – £1 makeup items proving to be of great quality, giving lasting results and great colour. One thing I am very picky about though is lipstick. It’s one of the few things I’ll pay top dollar for…..I like to treat myself now and again and I believe that lipsticks need to be top quality to stop your lips from drying out as lip skin can be very sensitive.  Anyway, despite the great performance from other Makeup Revolution products, I was skeptical about the lippy.

photo 2

So I figured only waste £1 on testing one of these lipsticks. I mean, how good could they be? I ordered a nice, neutral pink shade called Cheer. When it came, it turned out to be a lovely shade – nice, subtle and suitable for daytime wear. This is a pretty decent lipstick actually.

1

photo 2

The lipstick applies really well and has a nice, non-sticky finish. I needed to apply a few layers as the colour is really sheer and very subtle but for wearing to work, it’s perfect! It did not dry my lips out and it lasted okay…..I needed to re-apply after my second coffee of the day.

photo 3 (2)

photo 5

Make up used: Benefit Dr Feelgood, bareMinerals bareskin foundation, Makeup Revolution baked blush, Makeup revolution eyeshadows Frozen & Heavenly, Benefit They’re Real! mascara, Sephora white eye brightening pencil, Elf eye pencil and of course…..Cheer lipstick from Makeup revolution!

I really like this lipstick and am eager to give a few other colours a try.  Some of the colours in the range are a bit out there – suffice to say I’ll be sticking with nudes and pinks!

lippys 2

These shades I will probably test.

lippys 1

These shades? Not so much!

One thing that is good about these lipsticks – they lid stays on and the lipstick stays inside the tube. It might sound like a strange thing to say, but I find that with ELF lipsticks, the lid often does not click safely on and then the lipstick comes loose and is no longer usable. Plus, I have had a handbag lining ruined by this happening 😦 I think I may have fallen out of love with ELF a little. Their £1.50 range has increased in price (now £1.95) and the quality is very hit and miss. Plus, their unique selling point of selling makeup for £1.50 has now gone and they are almost double the price of Makeup Revolution’s budget range. What I love about Makeup Revolution is that you shop for what you want and need, you don’t go mad spending £20 to get 40% off only to pay the same price for ELF makeup as it was before they put the prices up!!

As ever, my top tip is to order from Superdrug as they exclusively stock Makeup Revolution and you will receive free shipping on order £10 and over. Makeup revolution charge £2.95 on orders under £30 and to be honest…..for £2.95 you can order 3 extra products more or less!

Have you tried this makeup range? What did you think?

2 thoughts on “Make up revolution £1 lipstick review

Leave a Reply

